SFHS Knight Life Student Newspaper

All the news that's right to post

Better Know a Senior: James Lee and Chris Carmody on AP Bio

leave a comment »

By Alex Sercel

3/29/2011

The concept for this piece was to interview senior James Lee. I gave him 15 minutes to discuss whatever topic he chose and I simply wrote down what he said. This is the result:

Photo Credit: jchck99

 

Lee: Why did I choose to take AP Bio this year? People told me it was a difficult class and I wanted to challenge myself. I thought that pushing myself mentally would help fend off senioritis. As a result, I haven’t slept for days (laughter).

 Sercel: That’s impressive James. What have you found AP Bio to actually be like?

 Lee: Challenging, motivating, and heartbreaking. The course is tough and I am constantly fighting to stay ahead of the workload. One big benefit is that it’s compelled me to play Gameboy Color Pokemon because it teaches me about evolution (laughter).

 [At this point, Chris Carmody walks over and joins the interview]

 Lee: Dude, he’s interviewing us about AP Bio.

 Carmody: What?

 Lee: Bio has had its disappointments. For example, after studying all night…

 Carmody: -Literally, ALL NIGHT…

 Lee:…and then seeing a big fat “F” can really get you down. 

 Sercel: Why have you stayed in the class if it is so difficult?

 Carmody: Biology is beautiful. I like the subject, that’s the only reason I’m still in the class. Through learning bio, the universe is understandable. Before AP Bio, it all seemed like magic, but now it makes sense.

 Lee: For me, bio is about trying to redeem ourselves. There are constant challenges to help us improve. One of the most important things I’ve learned is that you can’t expect instant results when you are working on something difficult. You must remain patient. Keep working. “No man is beat until he quits”.

 Sercel: Thanks for your time, gentlemen.

Written by cromo1969

March 29, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Posted in Campus

Leave a Reply

